Hitting the Omega Point

Posted: July 9, 2014 in Holistic Thinking in Law & Policy
Tags: ,

 I spent this past weekend at the Omega Institute in Rhinebeck, NY.  Omega is an holistic retreat center that offers workshops for folks who want to address tangible, “real world” problems in their lives by exploring their consciousness in a contemplative, healing way.  Funny enough, this weekend was the 4th of July, a holiday we celebrate in honor of independence.  And, the workshop was about facilitating divorce for women in a holistic, even spiritual way.  My role was to assist the workshop’s facilitators, by supporting their efforts and helping to hold space for our participants.

IMG_0102Being a part of this event was special to me for a couple of reasons.  One is, I’ve spent time living and working at Omega two other times in my life, both of which impacted my development as a person and as an holistic thinker greatly.  My goal since the age of 18, when I took a year off before college and spent time there, has been to return someday as faculty (clearly I am beginning to close in on this goal).  The other is, holding a workshop that discusses law is new for Omega.  It’s new in the holistic scene altogether, actually.  And to be a part of this emergence is something I take great personal pride in, as well as something I find hopeful in terms of where holistic thought and the field of law itself are headed.

I’ll end here for now, but if you’re interested, take a look at the more detailed posts I’ve written about the experience.  You can also leave a comment asking specific questions that I’d be happy to take a stab at answering…

 

Leave a Reply

